Mighty Ducks
Sep. 20th, 2013 10:05 pmI have decided that the ship has sailed on me seeing the 1D movie in the cinema... I just can't do it by myself. >_>
I watched the three Mighty Ducks movies yesterday and they were pretty great. I did not know they were set in Minnesota, that is a funny coincedence, also the random hockey players were hilarious, I can't believe they got Gretzky in one!
In the first two the coach had a way too big of a role for my tastes, after all weren't these kids movies? So why would kids care about some middle aged mans mid-life crisis? Also the main kid character is Peter from Fringe and I will never get over this fact. :D Now I wish there was a fic where Peter gets de-aged to that sulky 14 year old he was in D3. I would laugh forever. :D
I super want a fic where Charlie and Adam Banks meet when they are adults and Adam plays in the NHL and then they fall in love. This is what I want right now.
(I was really sad that they kept making Banks's part smaller and smaller, so he was barely in the third one. *pout* Also the poor actor hasn't done well for himself afterwards. I couldn't even find a photo of what he looks like as a grown up. I also thought the girl goalie looked familiar but I'm not sure. And are girls even allowed to play in the same team with guys at that level? I have no idea...)
Waaah~ why hasn't the hockey season started yet? I'm so frustrated reading about preseason games when I can't watch them. *whines*
Now I'm agonizing with my Yuletide nominations, because I already nominated Goon and I'm not sure if I want to use another slot to Nom the Mighty Ducks movies too...
Hockey fic is now 37,600 words long and because I now know my posting date I've been avoiding writing it, as I have a lot of time all of a sudden... I really should just get this thing done already. At least I made some progress with my emotionally stunted hockey player pov character. Should be all smooth sailing from here on out, right? *nervous laughter*
I watched the three Mighty Ducks movies yesterday and they were pretty great. I did not know they were set in Minnesota, that is a funny coincedence, also the random hockey players were hilarious, I can't believe they got Gretzky in one!
In the first two the coach had a way too big of a role for my tastes, after all weren't these kids movies? So why would kids care about some middle aged mans mid-life crisis? Also the main kid character is Peter from Fringe and I will never get over this fact. :D Now I wish there was a fic where Peter gets de-aged to that sulky 14 year old he was in D3. I would laugh forever. :D
I super want a fic where Charlie and Adam Banks meet when they are adults and Adam plays in the NHL and then they fall in love. This is what I want right now.
(I was really sad that they kept making Banks's part smaller and smaller, so he was barely in the third one. *pout* Also the poor actor hasn't done well for himself afterwards. I couldn't even find a photo of what he looks like as a grown up. I also thought the girl goalie looked familiar but I'm not sure. And are girls even allowed to play in the same team with guys at that level? I have no idea...)
Waaah~ why hasn't the hockey season started yet? I'm so frustrated reading about preseason games when I can't watch them. *whines*
Now I'm agonizing with my Yuletide nominations, because I already nominated Goon and I'm not sure if I want to use another slot to Nom the Mighty Ducks movies too...
Hockey fic is now 37,600 words long and because I now know my posting date I've been avoiding writing it, as I have a lot of time all of a sudden... I really should just get this thing done already. At least I made some progress with my emotionally stunted hockey player pov character. Should be all smooth sailing from here on out, right? *nervous laughter*
no subject
Date: 2013-09-20 07:19 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-09-20 07:24 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-09-21 04:20 am (UTC)Girls are allowed to play with guys at that level of hockey, but it generally doesn't happen. They're more likely to play on all-girls teams. There was (very) briefly a female goalie who played with Tampa Bay back in the 90s, but that's about it.
no subject
Date: 2013-09-21 09:40 am (UTC)That makes sense, especially if they play as a forward/d-man, because I'd think hitting etc would be more of an issue once you hit high school and guys suddenly get tall and heavy. She played one exhibition game, so I wouldn't really count that, but I wonder why it hasn't happened since. I mean if the woman was tall enough, so there wouldn't be a disadvantage on how much of the goal she would cover I really don't see why you couldn't have female goalies...
no subject
Date: 2013-09-21 01:01 pm (UTC)I WOULD READ THIS FOREVER.
I really liked those movies as a kid, but I rewatched the first recently (because HOCKEY), and eh, it didn't stand the test of time for me as well as a lot of the other kids sports movies I loved. But I totally remember crushing on Charlie as a kid, I'm so happy he's one of the few kid stars who turned out ok.
no subject
Date: 2013-09-21 01:47 pm (UTC)I had never seen any of them, so I didn't have any expectations about them. I found them pretty entertaining and I wish they would still use age appropriate actors in stuff. I forgot this was actually a thing that happened in the 90's. But you're right about child actors getting messed up pretty often, so maybe it's better to have 30 year olds play teenagers.
no subject
Date: 2013-09-22 08:49 pm (UTC)God now I want that fic too. That sounds glorious.
(on another note, am I the only one who abhors 3D movies? Because every time I go see one, I come out feeling queasy. And the regular ones, man I can watch Blair Witch and be fine. It all just kind of seems unnecessary to me.)
no subject
Date: 2013-09-22 11:46 pm (UTC)I hate 3D, it doesn't affect me physically, but it always looks ugly to me. Like the Hobbit movie for instance, the 3D in it almost ruined the whole thing for me. Also because I wear glasses, putting on the 3D things on top of that is really uncomfortable, so I need to wear contacts, which can be a hassle sometimes.